top of page
Search
  • Last Stop Sounds

Aubrey Eels Interview - 19 January 2020


Aubrey Eels? Is it a band or a solo artist? After a bit of digging around the quagmire of the tinterweb thing, I unearth the origins. Aubrey Eels is the brainchild of a Mr Ian Hamilton hailing from Grantham. I first came across Aubrey Eels by listening to Liam Trotsky's Outta Limits Radio show. Straight away the sound captivated me, very reminiscent of Sleaford Mods (no doubt there been comparisons before) but better. I badgered Liam for a CD as I knew he had a few spare copies, eventually he succumb to my pestering and dropped one off for me. I reckon I played the album through three times in quick succession, it's that good! Intrigued and wanting to know more, I tracked Ian down on that there Facebook and asked more. The conversation went as below....


DLW: Hi, are you the brains behind Aubrey Eels? Reason I'm asking is because I love the stuff and I'm a regular listener to Liam Trotsky's radio show and I heard your stuff there. Liam has kindly given me a copy of one of your CDs and can't stop playing it. 


IAN: Hello Dave. I am Aubrey Eels. 


DLW: Pleased to meet you. Can you give me a brief background of Aubrey Eels please and how do you construct and write your music, cheers.



IAN: I’ve been a doing poetry like John Cooper Clarke... I wish... For a few years. In pubs folk never listened so I decided to add bass guitar (I’m no good on guitar) to make a bigger noise; get people’s attention. I write the music separate to the poems. Just riffs. Then just pick a poem to fit the bass riff. Then hopefully I can say the poem whilst playing the riff... if I can, it’s a winner. I’ve done a few supports for bands east of the Pennines but looking forward to travelling in the future. A mate called Chris lives in Whitby. We send each other bits of poetry which we edit and elaborate on to get it finished. My 2 albums were each recorded in 1 day. I like the rawness of it. Also I can’t afford lots of studio time. 


DLW: Was your first album released this year? (2020)


IAN: Yes. They both were. Never had time before....Recorded in Louth, Pump House studios. Produced by Tom Milner.


DLW: Is the music just bass (obviously with effects) and drum machine or live drums?


IAN: Just bass with a digitech whammy pedal, for octave divide and a distortion pedal. Drum machine on this one.


DLW: Is Chris (Whitby) part of the 'band' too or does he just help with writing?


IAN: Chris was in a Sheffield band called “They Must Be Russians” but now we just exchange words. Live, I plan to go out solo...  or maximum with a drummer/duo.


DLW: Have you gigged any of this material live at all?


IAN: With bass ....March this year (2020). One and only in a small pub in Grantham but have gigged as a shouty poet, about 5 gigs.


DLW: Cheers for the info, stay safe.



First we take a look at Aubrey Eels first CD, the wonderfully titled "Dementia Is A Pig In Grantham". Twelve tracks of very clever poetic lyrics accompanied by possibly the best sounding bass I've ever heard, only a few other bass sounds, to me, are as unique as this and they are Lemmy (RIP) and Peter Hook in their uniqueness. I don't have a track listing for this album (or the second one). My favourite tracks include offerings two and  four but the whole album is a masterpiece. Track two has the funny as hell opening lyrics.... '2,3,4.... Fuck off!' Ian's vocals are also very different, he doesn't really sing, more like reads from his lyric sheet over the fuzzy bass and pre-generated drum tracks. The majority of the album is quite slow but that is fine as it gives the listener a chance to fully listen and appreciate the clever wordings. The album is humourous in places and depicts every day life, track four as previously mentioned relates to a subject matter that I'm certain people have had to endure, an ex (or current) possesive partner who keeps 'comin round me house!' The album is certainly different from a lot of music that I normally listen to but it's that, that makes it a very pleasing aural experience. 


The second album is apparently named after a phrase that his mum used to say to him when he was a kid "Keep Crying, You'll Piss Less". This album has thirteen tracks and continues where "Dementia....." left off. The bass sound is ever so slightly different from the first album, it still has that fuzzy, distorted sound but feels slightly warmer and it adds to the flavour of the whole sound. The same humour and references to daily life are still prominent and there is a sense that Ian has up the ante slightly as the bass is a tad busier as are the drums. Lyrically, some of the songs have a more serious tone as evident in tracks three and four. Track three depicts what it is like if you split with your missus and are having issues dealing with that, especially if kids are involved. Track four relates to the horrors of what life must be like as a battery hen and wanting to be a free range chicken and reminds us humans of the horrors these poor birds have to endure. Track five too shows how serious Ian can be, his lyrics make you sit up  and reflect on shit that's going on in this sometimes fucked up World. Overall though a great follow up to his debut album..... 



As stated if you can imagine the sound of Sleaford Mods and mix that with John Cooper Clarke-esque poetry then you discover Aubrey Eels. A not so obvious amalgamation but one that marries together with ease. Aubrey Eels is definitely a band that I intend to see once the current shit storm has passed us by. Two great albums, different but great.


Words: DLW, Photos: Band Media



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

EP Review: The Shako self-titled EP - 20 March 2023

Formed by Tabby in 2019 on the Wirral, Merseyside, Shako are one of those bands with a catchy punk attitude and sound of first wave punk from the 70’s, melodic tunes with a deep sense of what’s happen

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page