top of page
Search
  • Last Stop Sounds

Elektra 56 - Vale Park, Wallasey, Gig Review - 24 July 2021


It is Saturday afternoon, there is an open air music festival happening in Vale Park, Wallasey. Jam In The Park. A quick look outside determines that today is somewhat cooler than this tropical clime that we've endured recently. Some may like it, I don't (I'm old) the sun burning down on me gives me headaches and I'd like a day whereby I'm not changing t-shirts every half hour. The decision is made, I'm off out to catch local rock n roll outfit, Elektr

I drag my kicking and screaming 12 year old out to the car, trying to surgically remove him from his phone, tablet, Nintendo or whatever electronic device he's glued to, explaining that music (and fresh air) is good for the soul. I think it fell on deaf ears but anyhow, we're in the car and en route.

We arrive, deck chairs are sought and we plonk our arses in them. Immediately his headphones are on and his phone is put to use, I tried. After saying a few initial hello's to the band and a few punters, I settle back as Elektra 56 launch into their set.


The three piece blast into their unique surf/rockabilly style. Gordon with his stand up drumming and donning black shades, Simon weaves his magic on his newly acquired guitar and Steve walks and meanders up and down all over the bass fretboard. Is that a new Fender he has bought? The band mix the set up very nicely indeed. Fast, slow, instrumentals.... During one song, Simon calls a halt to proceedings and blames Gordon for messing up the song, however he announces it was their first gig in 9 months and proves the band are not playing to a backing track, Steve was also quick to add that in 9 months, Simon could have had a baby in that time. Anyway, short mid song interlude over, they start it again.

The lads continue on plying their trade with each song receiving applause from the ever-growing audience. Some people even got up to dance. To surmise, it was a very pleasant hour or so watching the band set up and entertain the gatherers. Even my lad clapped after each song and actually started to take note of the surroundings and music. The weather held off but did start to warm up as the band neared the conclusion of their set. The penultimate song in the set was introduced as their first (soon to be released) single, I'll be keeping an eye out for it. Overall, I'm glad I went out to see these local surf/rockabilly/punk exponents of music, unfortunately they were unable to play the weekend before in Mollys due to covid issues, they were sorely missed and seeing them today reinforced that. There were other bands on after these but I had to get off, it was a flying visit but a most welcome one.


Please, please, please support your local scene, support your local bands, buy their merch etc.


Words and Photos: DLW



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

EP Review: The Shako self-titled EP - 20 March 2023

Formed by Tabby in 2019 on the Wirral, Merseyside, Shako are one of those bands with a catchy punk attitude and sound of first wave punk from the 70’s, melodic tunes with a deep sense of what’s happen

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page