top of page
Search
  • Last Stop Sounds

Gig Review - Subhumans, The Big I Am and The Dry Retch at Boulevard Wigan - 03 April 2022


It's day two and a second gig for the Dry Retch this weekend. I felt like I'd only just got in from playing the Pavilion the night before with the mighty Rites Of Hadda then we're back out again. J I load my gear in the van and we're off and Wigan it is!

Arriving at a closed venue, we park round the back and The Subhumans turn up shortly after. Soon The Subhumans are ready for a sound check and they sound amazing, a bit of what to expect later when they are in full swing.

Here I hand over to Barry Gushell, who was kind enough to write a few words about our set.

"The return of the Dry Retch to storm Wigan with their sonic barrage was certainly a triumphant one. A mixed crowd for the Subhumans was won over with the boomerang banter from front man Aussie John as verbal jousts shot back and forth. The “ladies and gentlemen of St. Helens” (ironic as not many from Wigan attended, but I was attending with someone from St. Helens, who was seeing them for the first time ha ha!!!)

We're joined in the middle of the dance floor by bass behemoth Dave, where the young and punky mingled with the old and drunky as the Dry Retch wall of noise was created by drummer Gaz and lead guitarist JP. This trio complete Aussie John's band of jolly swagmen as they waltzed their way effortlessly through the blistering set, certainly gaining new zealots.

(Their latest CD is well worth checking out on their bandcamp. All very interesting covers, (which some may recognize) plus it's for a worthy charity so grab a copy!) I for one am looking forward to the next one, although they should have done Freebird…BG"

After playing our set the plan was to chill outside for ten minutes and get some air but as I put my guitars behind the merch table, there were a few punters wanting to buy our t-shirts, CD's, badges etc. So I never got the chance to cool down. Next to us was the Subhumans merch table. so I 'manned' their table too, it was busy.

I heard The Big I Am open up their set and as much as I wanted to watch them, I was distracted selling merchandise so I was unable to catch them properly. I have to apologise to The Big I Am as I am unable to properly review their set from what I heard they were very tight and offered a tidy set.

By now the venue was pretty much rammed and they erupted and took the roof off the venue as The Subhumans started, Lots of old material being played from their vast back catalogue of classic tunes. "Black & White", "Animal", "No" and "Waiting For A Bus" amongst many. The Subhumans are not just a great band visually to watch, they are also very adept on their instruments At the back you have Trotsky hammering the kit into oblivion, Grant on guitar certainly knows his way around the fretboard, Phil is possibly one of, if not, the best (punk) bass players currently plying his trade live. All this is marvellously held together by Dick's spitting and spiteful and also very clued up and clever lyrics. Each track tells a story. "Infernal Riot" and "Information Gap" are examples of intelligent writings. The crowd are loving it and I'm able to forego merch duties as every punk soul in the place have their eyes glued to the stage. They were simply phenomenal. There is no other word to use, the place is literally bouncing. This is about the third or fourth time I've seen them and I still maintain they are the best live act in the punk scene. These guys are nearly 60 but still manage to put on a brilliant display of power, cleverness, angst, energy and sheer bloody good entertainment!! "The Day The Country" died brings the set to a close with a sea of fists bring pumped into the air. Quite poignant too as this country is dying at the moment under this corrupt government!

As the floor emptied, I'm suddenly hammered by punters wanting to buy more Subhumans merch, I was literally swamped! The queue dissipates as the roof slowly returns and nestles back onto the walls it vacated some sixty minutes ago. Calm soon returns and the gear is slowly dismantled, the merch is put away, goodbyes are said and we settle back in the van and head back home, all buzzing about how great a gig it was. And it truly was, the venue is a great place, the sound guy (apologies as I can't remember his name) does a great job and finally, Keith the promoter has got his act together. Not only does he know what he's doing, he looks after the bands and is genuinely a nice bloke who has put Wigan on the punk map and worked hard to achieve what he has.

Remember, if you don't go and see, support and buy merchandise from local bands..... live music will die and venues will close!! It needs us all to keep it alive.

Words: DLW and Barry Gushell, Photos: Richie Yates/Band Media

Links:

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

EP Review: The Shako self-titled EP - 20 March 2023

Formed by Tabby in 2019 on the Wirral, Merseyside, Shako are one of those bands with a catchy punk attitude and sound of first wave punk from the 70’s, melodic tunes with a deep sense of what’s happen

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page